Search   Register   Login
 
Books   

There are tens of thousands of books available which discuss breast cancer, helping patients from start to finish. This part of our website is not to promote books, it is simply to inform you about what is out there. If there are books you yourself found useful, feel free to discuss them in our Forum.

 

Anticancer, A new way of life, by Dr. David Servan-Schreiber
 

When David Servan- Schreiber, a dedicated scientist and doctor, was diagnosed with brain cancer, it changed his life. Confronting what medicine knows about the illness, the little known workings of the body's natural cancer-fighting capacities, and his own will to live, Servan-Schreiber found himself on a fifteen-year journey from disease and relapse into scientific exploration, and finally to health. Combining memoir with a clear explanation of what makes cancer cells thrive and what inhibits them, and describing both conventional and alternative ways to slow and prevent cancer, Anticancer is revolutionary in its clarity. It is a moving story of a doctor's inner and outer search for healing; radical in its discussion of the environment, lifestyle, and trauma; and inspiring and cautionary in its certainty that cancer cells lie dormant in all of us-and we all must care for the "terrain" in which they exist.

Anticancer takes us on a serious journey and, ultimately, an empowering one. In the tradition of Michael Pollan, John Kabat- Zinn, Barbara Kingsolver, and Andrew Weil, Anticancer genuinely guides us to "a new way of life."

   
   
   
Foods That Fight Cancer, by Dr. Richard Beliveau, Ph.D. and Dr. Denis Gingras, Ph.D.
 

 

 

 

Within this book is the perfect recipe for success: An author who is one of the world’s foremost experts in the groundbreaking area of how food chemistry can fight cancer. A highly accessible and practical text. A beautifully designed package accompanied by full-colour illustrations.

According to the Canadian Cancer Society, an estimated 149,000 new cases of cancer occurred in Canada in 2005. While this statistic is alarming, current research is showing convincingly that elements in particular foods may significantly reduce the risk of cancer in healthy individuals and slow its progress in those already suffering from the disease. We can help ourselves and our families through healthy eating. But the information coming through the popular media is confusing and often hard to understand. Just what should we be eating and in what combinations? Do all cancer-fighting foods work the same way? Do they all fight all kinds of cancers?

In Foods That Fight Cancer, leading biochemist Richard Béliveau teams up with Denis Gingras to describe the science of food and which properties of particular foods are the active cancer-fighting elements. They deftly explain how different foods work to protect the body against different cancers and show which foods will be most effective. By understanding the science behind these therapeutic benefits, we come to realize not only why it is so critical to add these foods to our diet, but how easily it can be done.

   
   
   
Cancer is a Word, Not a Sentence: A Practical Guide to Help You Through the First Few Weeks, by Robert Buckman
 

In this new approach to helping a person (and family) with cancer, renowned medical oncologist Dr. Robert Buckman takes a step-by-step look at coping with a diagnosis and moving forward with life. Cancer is a Word, Not a Sentence is not a dry compilation of cancer facts and biology. Instead, it is a guide for use in the real world. It shows the reader what the diagnosis means, what the tests are all about, how to weigh the benefits and risks of various treatment options, and how to cope with side-effects, uncertainties and emotional ups and downs. Additional topics include: Why clinical trials are worth considering, How to talk about cancer with family and friends, How to talk to your medical team, How to maintain quality of life, Where to get more help. Completing the book is a glossary of terms and a comprehensive list of organizations, websites and resources.

   
   
   
Picking Up the Pieces: Moving Forward after Breast Cancer, by Sherrie Magee and Kathy Scalzo
 

Stepping back into everyday life after having faced a life-threatening illness is not as simple as it sounds. Now what? How do you pick up the pieces of your life and put them back together again? There are no guidelines to follow once treatment for cancer finishes, no bridge from hospital to home. How do you discuss the variety of changes you are experiencing when you may not even know how to describe them? All you know is that you are confused and that you feel out of sync with yourself and with others.

Picking Up the Pieces will guide you through this difficult time. Reassuring, realistic, and insightful, this book presents a unique four-phrase process with useful daily practices to support you along your recovery journey. Drawing on the inspiring voices of cancer survivors, the authors give practical advice on how to design your own unique Healing Plan, including suggestions on ways to handle physical side effects and emotional stress, and how to connect with yourself, and with others.

   
   
   
Breast Cancer Husband: How to Help Your Wife (and Yourself) Through Diagnosis, Treatment, and Beyond, by Marc Silver
 
 

Breast Cancer Husband fills a gap in breast literature. It is the first comprehensive book to address the role and the needs of husbands, fiancés, and boyfriends. This invaluable guide offers critical information from prominent health-care professionals and from over 100 couples who have fought breast cancer together. The book covers everything from how to help your wife sort through her surgical options to what to say when she says, "Cancer sucks."

In Silver's reporting, he found that many men feel overwhelmed and frustrated when the news of a diagnosis comes. The typical male reaction: He was to "fix it." Of course, no husband can "fix" breast cancer.
But that doesn't mean that a man is powerless. In fact, newly published studies show that the support of a loved one can be critical when it comes to coping with the stress of treatments-and may even improve a patient's survival odds. The problem is, the man typically hasn't a clue how to be a good caregiver. And his instincts may lead him in the wrong direction.

   
   
   

Living in the Postmastectomy Body: Learning to Live in and Love Your Body Again, by Becky Zuckweiler

 

 

 

Undergoing a mastectomy is a devastating experience. This unique and hopeful coping guide fills a gap in women's health literature. While there are many fine books on breast cancer, none deal with the very real, and very practical issues facing a woman who is about to undergo a mastectomy and who then must deal with the challenges of living in the post-mastectomy body. Written from a professional and personal experience, Zuckweiler covers the practical, physical, psychological, social and sexual aspects of recovery. And, pain and special needs of mastectomy patients.

   
   
   
Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book: 4th Edition 2005, by Susan Love
 
 

Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book has been considered the bible of breast-care books since it appeared in 1990. In 1995, Love completely updated the book in a 600-page second edition, including new biopsy and screening methods, implants, and many other topics. Every chapter has been rewritten, with exception of the anatomy chapter. Love presents copious medical information in a simple, welcoming style, and plentiful illustrations make the information even clearer. About two-thirds of the book deals with breast cancer: risk factors, prevention, screening, diagnosis, staging, emotions, treatment options, surgery, alternative treatments, clinical trials, and more. But the book isn't just about breast cancer. It's also about breast development, physiology, bras, nursing, sexuality. Love also debunks breast myths: underwire bras do not cause cancer, neither do bruises or injuries. The book includes a wealth of resources: books, treatment centers, and organizations.

   
   
   
Mayo Clinic Guide to Women's Cancers
 
 

This book is divided into three main sectors: Part 1: Breast Cancer; Part 2: Gynecologic Cancers; and Part 3: Living with cancer. Written for those struggling with cancer, this layman's guide offers a complete review of breast cancer, from the latest genetic research to the management of advanced disease. The part "Living With Cancer" is also helpful, giving advice on dealing with the day-to-day emotional and physical aspects of cancer and its treatment.

   
   
   
Breast Cancer: Real Questions, Real Answers, by Dr. David Chan
 
 

This is an outgrowth of Dr. David Chan's more than 20 years in private oncology practice. Inspired by his patients, who courageously face their illness but often feel fearful, confused about their options, and full of questions.

Dr. Chan's book is uniquely structured as a Question and Answer between patient and doctor. It provides readers with an easily navigated, completely current resource for all their queries. Offering its information is an easily digestible manner, while reviewing and exploring the causes of breast cancer, outlining the core basics of breast cancer therapy, explaining how breast cancer survival is influenced by lifestyle, and much more.

   
   
   
   

Media » Books
<   Previous Page  |  Next Page  >
forum
blog
calendar
shop

 

 

More than one million people in 2005 participated in the Susan G. Komen Foundation's Race for the Cure, the largest network of 5K runs in the world. Consumers thoughtfully choose products ranging from yogurt to cars, responding to the promise that these purchases will contribute to a cure for the disease. And hundreds of companies and organizations support Breast Cancer Awareness Month, founded by a pharmaceutical company in 1985 and now recognized annually by the president of the United States. What could be wrong with that?

In Pink Ribbons, Inc., Samantha King traces how breast cancer has been transformed from a stigmatized disease and individual tragedy to a market-driven industry of survivorship. In an unprecedented outpouring of philanthropy, corporations turn their formidable promotion machines on the curing of the disease while dwarfing public health prevention efforts and stifling the calls for investigation into why and how breast cancer affects such a vast number of people. Here, for the first time, King questions the effectiveness and legitimacy of privately funded efforts to stop the epidemic among American women.
High revelatory – at times shocking – Pink Ribbons, Inc. challenges the commercialization of the breast cancer movement, its place in the U.S. culture, and its influence on ideas of good citizenship, responsible consumption, and generosity.

 
Copyright 1997-2011 Pink Ribbon Inc. / Pink Ribbon International   Terms and Conditions  Privacy Policy